The Executive Board


The Yale Debate Association is run by a board of five students who are elected by the team as a whole each year. This board is responsible for everything from selecting the year's class of novice debates and handling the team's finances to making travel arrangements and planning the team's tournaments. See also the board current board, and the boards of 2015, 2014, 2013, and 2012.

Board 2016

President: Henry Zhang. Henry is a senior in Ezra Stiles College from Los Angeles, CA, majoring in Ethics, Politics, and Economics. He has been involved with debate since middle school, competing primarily in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Before serving as president, he was the team's membership director and the judging director for the Yale Invitational. Outside of debate, he enjoys playing soccer, programming, eating, and beatboxing.

President/Director of Membership: Evan Lynyak. Evan is a senior in Morse College majoring in History. Originally from Los Angeles, she misses the California winters a great deal. She did not do much debate in high school, but is making up lost time in both the American and British Parliamentary styles in college. Before serving on board, Evan was one of the two assistant tournament directors for the Yale IV. Outside of debate, Evan enjoys watching basketball, cooking, and looking at pictures of fat animals (bulldogs, walruses, etc).

Director of Tournaments: Adela Lilollari. Adela is a junior in Davenport College from St. Petersburg, Florida, majoring in Ethics, Politics, and Economics. Before serving as the tournament director, Adela was the Director of Hospitality for the Yale Invitational High School Tournament. Apart from debate, Adela likes to read and binge watch the Bachelor(ette).

Director of Development: Justin Katz. Justin Katz is a junior in Ezra Stiles College planning to major in either Ethics, Politics, and Economics or Economics and Math. Originally from Durham, NC, he competed in Public Forum debate in high school. Before serving as Development Director, Justin was the Judges Director for the Yale Invitational. When he's not debating, he likes reading Russian literature, hiking, and shopping at Uniqlo.

Treasurer: Shirley Kuang. Shirley is a senior in Timothy Dwight College double majoring in Political Science and East Asian Studies. Originally from Long Island, New York, she attended Syosset High School, where she competed in Public Forum debate. Before serving as treasurer, she co-directed the 2015 Yale ProAms Tournament, assistant-directed the 2014 Adams Cup Tournament, and served as webmaster. Beyond debate, she loves to travel, is an aspiring photographer, and sometimes tries to dabble in film.