John C. Adams Memorial
Intramural Debate Tournament

October 16th, 2016

Tournament Information

Who Can Compete?

All students are eligible to compete: the only requirements is that teams consist of two people.Sign up as a team, or individual and we'll match you with a partner.

Competition Format

Each round will involve two teams, paired based on win-loss record. Fifteen minutes prior to each round, we will announce a resolution. Teams will randomly be assigned sides and will have 15 minutes to prepare. After three preliminary rounds, the top four teams will advance to semi-finals, and compete for the right to debate in front of our celebrity judges. The full set of rules can be found here.


Judges will be announced soon for the 2016 grand final. Past judges have included Professors Charles Hill and Shelly Kagan, along with two-time North American top speaker Kate Falkenstein, former top-ranked American debater and YDA president Robert Colonel, and 2011 World Championship semi-finalist Nick Cugini. Preliminary rounds and the semifinals will be judged by members of the Yale Debate Association, the most successful team in North America and the fourth-ranked team in the world.


The Adams Cup will take place on October 16th, 2016. Time and location TBA.